2016 – 17 Hong Kong School Ice Hockey League Championship Game Wah Yan College, Kowloon wins the Gold Medal

Under the title sponsor of Principal Hong Kong, the Hong Kong Amateur Hockey Club organized the 2016-17 Hong Kong School Ice Hockey League Finals (high school) which were successfully held at Mega Ice on 4 July 2017.

Special congratulations to Wah Yan College, Kowloon for becoming Division A Champions of the 2016-17 Hong School Ice Hockey League (high school). Anthony Wong of Wah Yan College, Kowloon was named the MVP of Division A in recognition of his outstanding efforts and excellence performance.

Prior to the final match between Wah Yan College, Kowloon (WYKLN) and Po Leung Kuk No. 1 WH Cheung College (PLK No.1), the Hong Kong Academy of Ice Hockey General Manager (Coach), Mr. Barry Beck; the Principal of WYKLN, Mr. Warren Chung Wai Leung; the Principal of PLK No. 1, Mr. Chau Chor Shing; and the two team captains gathered for the puck drop ceremony.

WYKLN and PLK No. 1 have already played against each other in the Hong Kong School Ice Hockey League (high school) final for three consecutive years. Last year, WYKLN only defeated PLK No. 1 by one goal, breaking PLK No. 1’s record of five consecutive wins. During the first period, WYKLN scored the first goal within two minutes. Later, PLK No. 1 scored another goal, tying 1:1 at the end of the first period. In the next two periods, PLK No. 1 could not create more goal scoring opportunities even they fought really hard against WYKLN with strong defensive playing style. After the third period, WYKLN became the defending champion, thus bringing them to the throne in Division A of the Hong Kong Ice Hockey League (high school). The final score was 7:2.

The bronze medal match was also held earlier that evening, with Wah Yan College, Hong Kong (WYHK) vs. Po Leung Kuk Choi Kai Yau School (CKY). At the beginning of the game, CKY first started attacking the opposite team, leading 2:1 ahead of WYHK. In the second period, both teams were struggling to find their rhythm. However, CKY grasped the opportunity to score another two goals, leading 4:1 ahead of their opponent. After the third period, CKY eventually won the third place with the final score of 8:2.

This is our 8th consecutive year of the Hong Kong School Ice Hockey League, under which the Principal Hong Kong has been the main title sponsor for seven consecutive years. Ice hockey has become popular within the school community, and the passion for sport has spread to students over the years. We are delighted to see many former ice hockey players have taken up their roles to serve for the Hong Kong Ice Hockey Community and to give back to the sport. These diverse roles include on-ice and off-ice officials and coaches. We hope that through the Hong Kong School Ice Hockey League, there will be more students to get involved in ice hockey, to learn about teamwork and the never-give-up-spirit that are congruent with our slogan “We fall, we stand up STRONGER!”.

Participating Teams:
Division A Division B
Po Leung Kuk No.1 WH Cheung College Po Leung Kuk Tong Nai Kan Junior Secondary College
Wah Yan College, Kowloon Po Leung Kuk Laws Foundation College
Wah Yan College, Hong Kong  
Po Leung Kuk Choi Kai Yau School  
YPICA Lee Lim Ming College  
2016/17 Hong Kong School Ice Hockey League Results:
Division A
Champions: Wah Yan College, Kowloon
1st Runner Up: Po Leung Kuk No.1 WH Cheung College
1st Runner Up: Po Leung Kuk Choi Kai Yau School
Most Valuable Player: Anthony Wong (Wah Yan College, Kowloon)